2014-15 EABL Regular Season Award Winners Revealed

The EABL is pleased to reveal the winners of the 2014-15 regular season awards, which were announced at the Final Fours at UEL SportsDock on Friday.

Copleston High School’s Sam Newman has been named the 2014-15 MVP after dominating individually this season while leading Copleston to the third seed in the South. Newman led the league in scoring (30.3ppg) and steals (4.6spg), while being eighth in assists (4.8apg), and third in two point field goal percentage at an impressive 67%. The 6’3″ guard also set an EABL record with his 51 point outing in September against Northfleet Tech, and picked up the Player of the Week award three times.

Myerscough College’s Neal Hopkins picks up the North Conference Coach of the Year after guiding his squad to the number 1 seed with a 15-1 record. His team had the highest offensive and defensive rating in the league, and were amongst the leaders in every statistical category.

Meanwhile in the South, it is Itchen College’s Matt Guymon who picks up Coach of the Year honours, with a squad that have been the surprise team of the EABL this season, using balanced team play to finish with a 16-2 record to match SGS’s record but secure the second seed.

SGS College’s Deane Williams picks up the South Conference Defensive Player of the Year, leading the league in rebounds at 12.9 per game, while being ninth in blocked shots at 1.4bpg, to go with his 16.4 points.

EABL blocked shots leader Cameron King from Preston College picks up the North Conference Defensive Player of the Year, swatting 3 a game, while being fourth in the league in rebounding at 11.2rpg.

The All EABL First Team is made up of MVP Sam Newman, SGS College’s Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye (18.5ppg, 6.0rpg, 5.5apg) and Deane Williams, Milton Keynes College’s Michael New Jr (23.7ppg,7.6rpg, 4.6apg) and Charnwood College’s Josh McSwiggan (19.3ppg, 7.7rpg, 1.8apg).

Finally, the North and South Conference’s respective first and second teams can be found below:

2014-15 EABL Regular Season Award Winners

MVP: Sam Newman (Copleston High School)

North Conference Coach of the Year: Neal Hopkins (Myerscough College)

South Conference Coach of the Year: Matt Guymon (Itchen College)

South Conference Defensive Player of the Year: Deane Williams (SGS College)

North Conference Defensive Player of the Year: Cameron King (Preston College)

All EABL First Team: Sam Newman (Copleston), Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye (SGS), Deane Williams (SGS), Michael New Jr (Milton Keynes), Josh McSwiggan (Charnwood)

North Conference First & Second Teams
1st Team: Alex Roberts (Myerscough), Josh McSwiggan (Charnwood), Michael New Jr (Milton Keynes), Linas Bajorunas (Moulton), Cameron King (Preston)
2nd Team: Daniel Evans (Allerton), Joe Swindells (Loreto), Melkisedek Moreaux (Preston), Jake Wesselingh (Derby), Kiko Stavrev (Myerscough)

South Conference First & Second Teams
1st Team: Sam Newman (Copleston), Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye (SGS), Elliott James (Itchen), Luke Mascall-Wright (Copleston), Deane Williams (SGS)
2nd Team: Arif Sempala (Hackney), Charlie Coombes (Itchen), Tamas Okros (SGS), Jose Malo (Plymouth), Dave Couchman (Canterbury)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login