2015-16 EABL Regular Season Award Winners Announced

The EABL is pleased to reveal the winners of the 2015-16 regular season awards, which were voted on by team coaches from each conference.

It is Myerscough’s Kyle Carey who picks up the West Conference Player of the Year, being the dominant player on the only team that went undefeated through the regular season at 11-0. Carey averaged 19.1 points (fifth in league), 9.5 rebounds (fifth), 3.6 assists 1.8 steals and just short of a block per game (0.9), while leading the EABL in efficiency rating at 23.7. Carey shot 62.5% from within the arc (sixth), and had a true shooting percentage of 57.4 (eighth).

“Winning the Player of the Year in the West Conference is a big achievement for me,” Carey said. “I’m very fortunate to have played with teammates who have helped put me in this situation.

“The EABL is a great platform for players in the UK to make it to the next level. From the stats, to the highlights, it’s good to see English basketball taking steps in the right direction.”

Charnwood College’s Andre Arissol has been named the West Conference Defensive Player of the Year, averaging 2.9 steals per game (seventh), while spearheading one of the league’s best defences as Charnwood finished third in defensive rating, points allowed and second in 2 point FG% and true shooting % allowed.

Derby College/Noel Baker School’s Matt Shaw has been awarded the West Coach of the Year, as his squad finished up the season with a 7-4 record. Derby were in the top 5 in the league in a number of different statistical categories, including points per game, three point shooting percentage, true shooting percentage, 2PT FG% allowed, true shooting % allowed and steals.

“It’s an honour to be voted as Coach of the Year for the West Conference as we have some top coaches in the league,” Shaw said.

“I thought Josh Merrington deserved it – that’s who I voted for before they went on to win the national title. I have to give credit to the lads, they’ve been a great group to work with and there is a bright future for them individually and for those returning next year as a team. I’d also like to thank Phil Storer my assistant, he does so much work behind the scenes and gets our guys well prepared.”

In the East, City of London Academy’s Shaquille Walters made it a double, being voted Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year. Walters led his CoLA side to a 12-1 record and the number one seed in the East, while averaging 14.6 points, 6.3 rebounds, 3.5 assists, and 2.5 steals on a true shooting percentage of 50.3%.

He used his large wingspan to disrupt rival teams all season long, with CoLA finishing up fifth in the league in defensive rating and points allowed.

“Its a privilege to be recognised as the Eastern Conference Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year,” Walters said. “There can be no bigger compliment than opposing coaches appreciating your ability. I just want to thank my teammates and coaches who have constantly pushed me throughout the year to become a better player everyday because I really wouldn’t be receiving this award without them.

“The season was an amazing one, we fell short of our ultimate goal, however I am hoping it has started a tradition of CoLA being a force to be reckoned with in the EABL for years to come.”

Itchen College’s Matt Guymon picks up Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year, as his squad finished with the second seed at 11-2. Itchen finished second in the EABL in offensive rating, points per game, 2 point field goal percentage, true shooting percentage, and assist per game while leading the league in offensive rebound percentage. Itchen were the only team with more than one player in the EABL top ten leaders in efficiency rating – having a total of four – a testament to their unselfish play.

“It is an unbelievable honour to win this award in such a prestigious league that is filled with fantastic coaches,” Guymon commented.

“The players, coaching & support staff have been incredible, with everyone giving 100% to the program. This season being able to work with this group each day has been one of my most memorable coaching experiences.”

The EABL’s West First team is made up of Player of the Year Kyle Carey, along with Bournville’s Sedale Hanson-Young (21.7ppg, 3.4rpg, 4.7apg, 1.5spg), Defensive Player of the Year Andre Arissol (10.1ppg, 5.3rpg, 4.4apg, 2.9spg), Myerscough’s Alex Roberts (11.9ppg, 4.3rpg, 3.9apg, 2.3spg) and Derby’s Brian Amabilino (14.5ppg, 5.6rpg, 2.6apg, 2.6spg).

Meanwhile, the EABL’s East Conference First Team consists of Player of the Year Shaquille Walters, Itchen’s Ben Maranan (18.5ppg, 4.3rpg, 4.2apg, 2.3spg), Oaklands’ Evan Walshe (21.5ppg, 6.5rpg, 3.2apg, 2.7spg), EABL leading scorer James Lloyd of Canterbury (22.2ppg, 5.5rpg, 2.8apg, 3.2spg), and Barking Abbey’s Obi Agu (17.4ppg, 7.6rpg, 0.6apg, 1.8spg).

The EABL West Conference second team consists of Derby’s Adria Amabilino (14.3ppg, 5.3rpg, 1.7apg, 2.0spg), Charnwood teammates Thomas Yome (12.5ppg, 6.6rpg, 3.8apg, 1.8spg) and Timothy Fava (10.9ppg, 4.1rpg, 2.3apg, 1.9spg), Bournville’s Jay Jarrett (13.4ppg, 8.4rpg, 2.2apg, 2.0spg, 1.6bpg) and Zion Tordoff (13.8ppg, 5.2rpg) from Myerscough.

The EABL East Conference Second team is made up of Copleston teammates Caleb Fuller (16.9ppg, 8.1rpg, 2.4apg, 1.5spg) and Josh Apple (14.5ppg, 12.8rpg, 1.3spg, 1.0bpg), Itchen’s Selby Hind-Wills (12.1ppg, 9.8rpg, 2.2apg, 2.1spg, 1.1bpg) and Theo King (17.8ppg, 5.1rpg, 4.0apg, 2.0spg), and John Madejski Academy’s Fidel Gomez De Enterria Lopez (12.5ppg, 11.5rpg, 1.9apg).

2015-16 EABL Award Winners

West Conference

Player of the Year: Kyle Carey (Myerscough College)
Defensive Player of the Year: Andre Arissol (Charnwood College)
Coach of the Year: Matt Shaw (Derby College/Noel Baker School)
First Team: Kyle Carey (Myerscough), Sedale Hanson-Young (Bournville), Andre Arissol (Charnwood), Alex Roberts (Myerscough), Brian Amabilino (Derby College/Noel Baker School)
Second Team: Adria Amabilino (Derby College/Noel Baker School), Thomas Yome (Charnwood), Jay Jarrett (Bournville), Zion Tordoff (Myerscough), Timothy Fava (Charnwood)

East Conference

Player of the Year: Shaquille Walters (City of London Academy)
Defensive Player of the Year: Shaquille Walters (City of London Academy)
Coach of the Year: Matt Guymon (Itchen College)
First Team: Shaquille Walters (City of London Academy), Ben Maranan (Itchen), Evan Walshe (Oaklands), James Lloyd (Canterbury), Obi Agu (Barking Abbey)
Second Team: Caleb Fuller (Copleston), Selby Hinds-Wills (Itchen), Theo King (Itchen), Fidel Gomez De Enterria Lopez (John Madejski Academy), Josh Apple (Copleston)

Please note: All awards were based on regular season only, and First Team and Second Teams were voted on regardless of position.

One Comment

  1. Pingback: Obi Agu Named to All-EABL East Conference First Team | Barking Abbey Basketball

You must be logged in to post a comment Login