2016-17 All-EABL Teams Revealed

The EABL is pleased to reveal the All-EABL East and West Conference First and Second Teams, which were voted on by team coaches from each conference.

In the All-East First Team, undefeated Barking Abbey feature two players, in league leading scorer Amin Adamu and RJ Eytle-Rock, whilst second-seeded Itchen College are represented by Sam Van Oostrum, with CoLA’s Gedi Juozapaitis and Copleston’s Caleb Fuller also making the cut.

League leading scorer Amin Adamu (21.9ppg, 4.6rpg, 1.8apg, 2.7spg) impressed for BA, finishing third in the league in efficiency whilst shooting high percentages as one of the league’s most dominant players.

Teammate RJ Eytle-Rock (10.4ppg, 4.0rpg, 4.3apg, 2.7spg) joined Adamu, being the steady point guard who orchestrated Barking Abbey’s offence and finished fifth in the league leader table in assists.

Copleston’s Caleb Fuller (18.1ppg, 6.1rpg, 3.0apg, 1.2spg) also makes the First team, finishing fifth in scoring, whilst having solid all around numbers.

City of London Academy’s Gedi Juozapaitis (16.8ppg, 5.8rpg, 1.8apg, 2.6spg, 1.0bpg) helped CoLA to the third seed, and also was the only guard to finish amongst the top blocked shot leaders.

Sam Van Oostrum (16.1ppg, 7.1rpg, 5.4apg, 2.9spg) rounds out the First Team. He was one of the league’s best all around players, leading the EABL in assists, finishing tenth in efficiency as he registered multiple triple doubles and picked up Player of the Week twice.

In the All-West First Team, there is a wide spread with five players voted in are from five different teams. Selected were Derby College/Noel Baker’s Brian Amabilino, Loreto’s Kaiyem Cleary, Charnwood’s Johde Campbell, Allerton’s Micah Savery-Richards, and Myerscough’s Zion Tordoff.

Derby College/Noel Baker School’s Brian Amabilino (16.3ppg, 8.4rpg, 4.4apg, 2.6spg, 1.0bpg), finished seventh in efficiency, third in assists, and tenth in blocked shots whilst helping Derby to the final playoff spot in the West.

Three-time Player of the Week, Johde Campbell (16.5ppg, 4.6rpg, 4.4apg, 3.5spg) of Charnwood was also voted in, owning some of the top individual performances on the season. He finished fifth in efficency, tenth in scoring, fourth in assists and steals, and amongst the top shooters.

Loreto’s Kaiyem Cleary (20.9ppg, 8.4rpg, 1.4apg, 1.8spg, 0.9bpg), finished as the league’s second leading scorer, and was also amongst the leaders in shooting percentage to help him finish eighth in effiency.

Allerton’s Micah Savery-Richards (17.1ppg, 5.6rpg, 2.6apg, 3.0spg) finished seventh in the scoring, and sixth amongst steals leaders whilst appearing in multiple top plays of the week for his aerial antics.

Myerscough’s Zion Tordoff (19.1ppg, 10.9rpg, 2.1apg, 1.0spg) rounds out the West First team. One of only five players to average double digit rebounds, Tordoff was second in the league in efficiency, second in rebounding, first in offensive rebounding, and the league leader in free throw percentage.

The All-East Second team is dominated by John Madejski Academy, who made the playoffs for the first time. The trio of Fidel Gomez De Enterria Lopez (10.7ppg, 10.3rpg, 3.1apg, 2.1spg), Ibu Jassey Demba (11.9ppg, 7.1rpg, 2.5apg, 2.4spg) and Ali Sbai (13.9ppg, 6.2rpg, 2.3spg) were all voted in, whilst Itchen’s Adam Riabi (11.8ppg, 7.3rpg, 1.6spg) and big man Roman Farion (9.7ppg, 10.0rpg and 3.4bpg) round out the team.

The All-West Second Team is also well spread across teams. Loreto guard and EABL steals leader Michael Anumba (13.9ppg, 4.9rpg, 4.0apg, 4.5spg) makes the team, SGS College’s and EABL efficiency leader AJ Edu slides in (13.7ppg, 13.1rpg, 2.0apg, 1.3spg, 4.5bpg), along with Myerscough’s Konrad Kantorski (11.7ppg, 2.8rpg, 3.5apg, 0.9spg), Bournville’s dominant big man Meris Mazalovic (16.7ppg, 8.8rpg, 1.2apg, 1.4spg), and Charnwood guard Sesan Russell (16.4ppg, 5.6rpg, 3.4apg, 2.8spg).

2016-17 All-Conference Teams

East Conference

All-First Team: Amin Adamu (Barking Abbey), RJ Eytle-Rock (Barking Abbey), Caleb Fuller (Copleston Sixth Form), Gedi Juozapaitis (City of London Academy), Sam Van Oostrum (Itchen College).
All-Second Team: Roman Farion (Itchen College), Fidel Gomez De Enterria Lopez (John Madejski Academy), Ibu Jassey Demba (John Madejski Academy), Adam Riabi (Itchen College), Ali Sbai (John Madejski Academy).

West Conference

All-First Team: Brian Amabilino (Derby College/Noel Baker School), Kaiyem Cleary (Loreto College), Micah Savery-Richards (Allerton High School), Johde Campbell (Charnwood College), Zion Tordoff (Myerscough College).
All-Second Team: Michael Anumba (Loreto College), AJ Edu (SGS College), Konrad Kantorski (Myerscough College), Meris Mazalovic (Bournville College), Sesan Russell (Charnwood College).

The Conference Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards will be announced on Tuesday.

Please note: All awards were based on regular season only, and the teams were voted on regardless of position.

One Comment

  1. Pingback: EABL 2016-17 Individual Award Winners Revealed - EABL

You must be logged in to post a comment Login