EABL 2016-17 Individual Award Winners Revealed

The EABL is pleased to reveal the individual award winners of the 2016-17 regular season, which were voted on by team coaches from each conference.

It is Barking Abbey’s Amin Adamu who was unanimously voted the East Conference Player of the Year, being the standout on the only team to go undefeated throughout the regular season at 14-0. Adamu led the league in scoring at 21.9 points, and added 4.6 rebounds, 1.8apg and 2.7spg. He finished third in efficiency rating, and was second in the league in free throw shooting (81.3%), led the league in true shooting percentage at 65.6% and 2PT FG% at 65.9%, whilst finishing fifth in 3 point shooting at 37.5%

“It’s an honour to be the East Conference Player of the Year,” Adamu said. “Me and my teammates worked hard all year to have a successful season. I would like to thank my coaches who have motivated me to get better everyday and also the coaches who voted for me.”

In the West, Myerscough College’s Zion Tordoff took home Conference Player of the Year honours, whilst leading his side to the second seed and an 8-4 record. Tordoff finished second in the league in efficiency rating, and was one of only four players to average a double double. His season averages of 19.1 points (third), 10.9 rebounds (second), 2.1 assists and 1 steal per outing were amongst the best in the league, as he also led the league in offensive rebounding (4.4) and free throw percentage (83.8%), and finished sixth in true shooting percentage (58.7%) and ninth in 2PT FG% (53.3%).

Myerscough Head Coach Neal Hopkins was elated for Tordoff:

“I am delighted for Zion. He has worked incredibly hard over the past two years and has had an outstanding season. He has been a joy to coach and has led our programme with complete dedication – he truly represents what Myerscough is about and I am proud of what he has achieved. Zion has a bright future ahead of him and I can’t wait to watch him grow and develop as he moves forward.”

It was a double for Barking Abbey, as play caller Lloyd Gardner picked up Coach of the Year honours in the East after leading his squad to an undefeated record as they attempt regain the title they last held in 2014. Barking Abbey were the best defensive team in the league, leading the competition in defensive rating, points allowed, steals, defensive rebound percentage, 3PT FG% allowed and true shooting % allowed, whilst also being the second best offensive team.

“I’m honour to be selected as Coach of the Year in the East, but slightly embarrassed at the same time,” Gardner commented.

“I feel like we’ve got some great coaches in the conference and some of them had a very deserving year of this award as well. I have to accept this on behalf of our entire programme; I give thanks to the players who have performed well this season and showed up every day to practice and worked hard, but also the other coaches we have.

“James Vear, who is with me all the time, he shares this award with me as he’s coached a selection of the EABL games as well and works with our D4 team, and the other coaches that we have that work with our players on an individual basis, especially Mark Clark and Karen Burton.”

In the West, it is back to back Coach of the Year awards for Derby College/Noel Baker School’s Matt Shaw. Derby finished up with a 7-5 record to sneak into the last playoff spot in the West, finishing seventh in offensive rating and ninth in defensive rating. Shaw’s side also made a mark with their unselfish team play, finishing third in the league in assists, in part due to their accuracy from three point range where they were also third in the competition.

“I was a little surprised to receive this award again, as we have so many good coaches in our conference who do a great job developing their players,” Shaw said.

“At Derby we have a whole bunch of coaches and staff that help our guys develop on the academy and within the Trailblazers club. This award is as much a reflection of the work they do as it is mine. I’m lucky to be surrounded by so many good people and also a club that helps to build on the work we do during the week by providing so many playing opportunities at the weekend.

“We also have a set of players who work hard everyday, that makes it fun. It’s a pleasure to work with such a great group of guys and to watch them grow on and off the court.”

John Madejski Academy’s Ibu Jassey Demba was voted in as the East Conference Defensive Player of the Year after spearheading the JMA defence that allowed them to make the playoffs for the first time. Demba averaged 2.4 steals, 7.1 rebounds and just shy of a block per outing to go with his 11.9 points and 2.5 assists per game, as JMA finished sixth overall in defensive rating.

“I am really honoured to receive this award and very proud of myself for doing so,” Jassey Demba, who also made the East Conference Second Team, said.

“I want to thank all of my coaches for continually pushing me to play hard defence and understand the value it brings to the team. I have loved playing in the EABL and this award completes my time in the league. Thank you to everyone who voted for me!”

The West Conference Defensive Player of the Year award went to Loreto College’s Michael Anumba. Anumba, who was also named to the All-West Second team, led the league in steals at an impressive 4.5 per game, which supplemented his 13.9 points, 4.9 rebounds and 4.0 assists per game.

“It’s a privilege to be recognised as the EABL West Conference Defensive Player of the Year,” Anumba said.

“I’m really proud considering the talent on display week in week out. I could have never made it without my teammates and my coach. The merit goes to them also.”

2016-17 EABL Award Winners

East Conference

Player of the Year: Amin Adamu (Barking Abbey)
Coach of the Year: Lloyd Gardner (Barking Abbey)
Defensive Player of the Year: Ibu Jassey Demba (John Madejski Academy)

West Conference

Player of the Year: Zion Tordoff (Myerscough College)
Coach of the Year: Matt Shaw (Derby College/Noel Baker School)
Defensive Player of the Year: Michael Anumba (Loreto College)

You can find the All-Conference teams here.

Please note: All awards were based on regular season only.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login