Academy League 3×3 Tournaments Return, Beginning with Regional Qualifiers

Basketball England’s two Elite Academy competitions, the Elite Academy Basketball League (EABL) and the Women’s Elite Academy Basketball League (WEABL), are all set to participate in their second annual 3×3 tournaments this week (Wednesday, December 6th).

The yearly competition will see many junior internationals and top-level U19 players among the EABL and WEABL contingents take to the court in accordance with FIBA’s (The International Basketball Federation) concerted efforts to see 3×3 basketball developed on a worldwide scale.

Charnwood College, Copleston Sixth Form, and Myerscough College, will host the three regional qualifiers on Wednesday (December 6th), with the top two teams from each heat going through to the national finals. All tournament games will be played under FIBA’s official 3×3 rules and regulations.

“Following last year’s successful introduction of the 3×3 format, teams from the EABL & WEABL will compete in one of three regional qualifiers before heading to the finals in January where the top teams will be crowned Academy Leagues 3×3 champions 2017-18,” Basketball England’s Programme & Pathway Integration Manager Charlie Ford commented.

“This year we have fully integrated and are working alongside FIBA to align the competition to their global 3×3 platform Given the fact that 3×3 basketball is on the schedule for the 2020 Olympic games in Tokyo the time is right to grow the 3×3 format of the game in the UK.”

Last year, Copleston claimed the inaugural EABL 3×3 title, whilst City of London Academy took the honours in the WEABL.

EABL & WEABL Chairman Jesse Sazant added:

“With the profile of 3×3 growing, and its inclusion in the Olympics, we’re really happy to include it as part of EABL and WEABL season again. Last year’s event was truly memorable and a great opportunity to showcase the talent we have in the elite academy leagues. I’m sure the regional events will be very competitive with the increased profile.”

The breakdown of the regional qualifying pools is as follows:

Venue: Leicester Arena
EABL: Charnwood College, Itchen College, John Madejski Academy, Oaklands College, SGS College
WEABL: Charnwood College, John Madejski Academy, Moulton College, Oaklands College

Venue: Copleston Sixth Form
EABL: City of London Academy, Copleston Sixth Form, BHASVIC, Barking Abbey, Canterbury High School
WEABL: City of London Academy, Barking Abbey, Greig City Academy, Copleston Sixth Form

Venue: Myerscough College
EABL: Myerscough College, Loreto Collge, BMET James Watt, Allerton High School, Derby College/Noel Baker School
WEABL: Nottingham Academy, Myerscough College, Loreto College

You must be logged in to post a comment Login