2017-18 All-EABL Teams Revealed

The EABL is pleased to reveal the 2017-18 All-EABL East and West Conference First and Second Teams, which were voted on by team coaches from each conference.

Top place finishers in the East, Barking Abbey, have two representatives in the All-First team, with the versatile Ade Adebayo (13.3ppg,3.9rpg, 3.3apg, 2.3spg, 1.1bpg) and Caleb Fuller (14.6ppg, 6.0rpg, 2.0apg, 1.9spg) both making the cut; it is Fuller’s second consecutive year in the All-First team.

Canterbury High School’s Jonathan Brown (17.1ppg, 6.2rpg, 4.5apg, 1.3spg) and Oakland College’s Jordan George (17.8ppg, 9.6rpg, 1.4apg, 2.3spg, 1.2bpg) are both rewarded after break out years, meanwhile Copleston big man Jonny Hall (22.7ppg, 14.1rpg, 1.3apg, 2.2spg, 1.0bpg) also gets the nod after a dominant season which saw him lead the league in scoring and finish second in rebounding.

In the West, no team has more than a single representative in the All-First team, as Loreto guard Michael Anumba (16.7ppg, 7.8rpg, 2.8apg, 1.7spg) gains selection, along with Charnwood’s Sesan Russell (17.9ppg, 7.0rpg, 5.3apg, 4.8spg); who upgrades after making the second team last season, having led the league in steals this year.

Additionally, Myerscough College big man Edoardo Del Cadia (15.4ppg, 11.0rpg, 2.2apg, 2.4spg) makes the honours, having an impressive season whilst leading Myerscough to the top spot in the West, along with SGS College’s AJ Edu (18.6ppg, 14.7rpg, 2.0apg, 1.4spg, 2.7bpg), who finished as the league’s efficiency, rebounding and blocked shots leader, and Derby College’s Leighton Elliott-Sewell (18.6ppg, 10.6rpg, 2.3apg, 2.4spg, 1.0bpg).

The All-East Second Team is made up of Itchen forward duo Matt Hughes (19.7pgg, 11.4rpg, 1.9apg, 1.7spg) and Ashley Briggs (14.2ppg, 8.5rpg, 2.7apg, 1.3spg), whilst Tunde Oyerinde (15.6ppg, 7.0rpg, 1.6spg) becomes the second Canterbury player to receive recognition.

Meanwhile, Patrick Lanipekun (13.5ppg, 4.4rpg, 2.8apg, 2.3spg) and Adrian Nosa Castillo (16.7ppg, 6.8rpg, 2.8apg, 4.1spg) become the sole representatives for City of London Academy and John Madejski Academy, respectively.

The All-West Second Team features teammates from both Charnwood and Myerscough, with Loreto’s Arinze Emeka-Anyakwo (14.0ppg, 8.0rpg, 1.3apg, 1.3spg) taking the fifth spot.

Point guard Niall Harris (8.4ppg, 6.7rpg, 2.0apg, 1.9spg) and big man Hosana Kitenge (10.6ppg, 8.0rpg, 3.0apg, 2.3spg) round out Charnwood selections, whilst backcourt duo Mate Okros (14.7ppg, 6.1rpg, 1.8apg, 1.2spg) and Konrad Kantorski (15.3ppg, 3.1rpg, 2.9apg, 1.2spg) – who led the league in 3-point field goal and free throw percentage – complete Myerscough’s representations.

2017-18 EABL All-Conference Teams

East Conference

All-First Team: Ade Adebayo (Barking Abbey), Jonathan Brown (Canterbury High School), Caleb Fuller (Barking Abbey), Jordan George (Oaklands College), Jonny Hall (Copleston Sixth Form)

All-Second Team: Ashley Briggs (Itchen College), Adrian Nosa Castillo (John Madejski Academy), Matt Hughes (Itchen College), Patrick Lanipekun (City of London Academy), Tunde Oyerinde (Canterbury High School)

West Conference

All-First Team: Michael Anumba (Loreto College), Edoardo Del Cadia (Myerscough College), AJ Edu (SGS College), Sesan Russell (Charnwood), Leighton Elliott-Sewell (Derby College)

All-Second Team: Arinze Emeka-Anyakwo (Loreto College), Niall Harris (Charnwood College), Konrad Kantorski (Myerscough College), Hosana Kitenge (Charnwood College), Mate Okros (Myerscough College)

Please note: All awards were based on regular season only, and the teams were voted on regardless of position.

One Comment

  1. Pingback: EABL 2017-18 Individual Award Winners Revealed - EABL

You must be logged in to post a comment Login