Voting process announced for 2019/20 Academy End of Season Awards

As the regular season nears its conclusion in the EABL, the process has begun to recognise the best under 19 players in the country as part of the EABL end of season awards.

Coaches recently completed a process to nominate the top three players from their programme, along with their own team’s candidates for the Defensive Player of the Year and Most Improved Player awards.

The nominees were then added to a voting form for all coaches to rank their top 10 players, without voting for anyone from their own programme, for the Most Valuable Player award and All-Conference 1st and 2nd Teams.

Teams will also rank their top three coaches for Coach of the Year and top three for Defensive Player of the Year and Most Improved Player.

The voting deadline for all programmes is Friday 21 February. Once all the votes are in, the award winners will be decided and then announced the week before the Academy Finals, beginning on Monday 9 March.

Last year’s winners

MVP – Charnwood’s Niall Harris was the EABL North Conference MVP with a division leading 26.0 efficiency rating on the season, while Copleston’s Ethan Price took the South Conference prize after posting the highest efficiency rating of any player in the EABL high 31.1 efficiency.

Defensive Player of the Year – James Watt College’s Wakeem Richardson averaging 3.0 steals and 7.2 defensive rebounds per game to take DPOY, with Copleston’s Ethan Price averaging a stunning 10.7 defensive boards, 2.4 steals and 3.4 blocks per contest in the South.

Most Improved Player – Jeremy Lievin put up some strong numbers at 9.9ppg, 10.0rpg, 1.4 steals per game and 1.3 blocks per game while Canterbury’s Milo Gordon got the nod after averaging 17.1ppg, 8.9rpg, 3.6apg, 2.4 steals per game and 1.3 blocks per game.

Coach of the Year – In the North Conference, Derby Trailblazers Academy’s Matt Shaw collected the honours after leading his side to a 9-5 regular season mark and an impressive 3rd place in a tough conference.

In the South Conference, Itchen’s Matt Guymon received the South Conference Coach of the Year award as they finished 2nd in South with a 15-3 record.

2018/19 Team of the Year

EABL 1st Team All Conference

Northern Conference 

Niall Harris, Hosana Kitenge, Blaize Sanga (all Charnwood College), Mate Okros (Myerscough College), Tosan Evboumwan (Newcastle Eagles Academy) 

Southern Conference

Ethan Price (Copleston High School) Ade Adebayo, Jonathan Brown (both Barking Abbey), Jeremy Sochan (Itchen College), Elias Poorman (Alec Reed Academy) 

EABL 2nd team All Conference

Northern Conference

Callan Low, Sanmi Fajana (both Myerscough College), Daniel Penkov, Wakeem Richardson, Ian Rodriguez (all James Watt College) 

Southern Conference

Peter Turay (Itchen College), Ben Winter, Veron Eze (both Copleston High School), Milo Gordon (Canterbury High School), David Chive (John Madejski Academy) 


You must be logged in to post a comment Login