Myerscough, Copleston enjoy a trio of selections as EABL All-Conference teams announced

After a great season of EABL action, the time has come to announce the All-Conference 1st and 2nd teams, recognising 20 players voted by their fellow programmes as standouts for 2019/20.

In the Northern Conference, Bradley Kaboza (15.9ppg, 3.5apg, 14.3eff) and Amari Williams (13.6ppg, 9.3rpg, 20.9eff) both get the nod from Myerscough after helping their side to a spotless 14-0 record during the regular season.

Derby’s Blake Bowman (27.6ppg, 8.9rpg, 28.1eff) was a popular selection in the end of season voting, no surprise given his 1st place in the EABL scoring leaders this season, and 2nd place in the efficiency leaders.

Charnwood’s Blaze Sagna (22.8ppg, 7.8rpg, 22.4eff) is a returning name to the All-Conference 1st team after earning the same honour last season, and James Watt’s Ian Rodriguez (21.2ppg, 3.4apg, 18.0eff) rounds out this year’s 1st team after making the 2nd team in 2018/19.

The Southern Conference All-Conference 1st team contains a pair of Barking Abbey players in Defensive Player of the Year Louis Norton (10.8ppg, 3.7apg, 13.1eff) and Veron Eze (14.4ppg, 5.5rpg, 14.4eff) who both make the cut.

Copleston also provide a pair of players in the form of Ethan Price (23.5ppg, 12.4rpg, 28.7eff) and Ben Winter (17.1ppg, 5.9apg, 20.6eff). 2019/20 marks Price’s 2nd straight year in the Southern Conference 1st team, with Winter taking a step up from the 2nds last season.

The remaining spot goes to John Madejski Academy guard David Chive (18.1ppg, 18.9eff, 52.3 3-pt%), who enjoyed an EABL top 10 spot for points, efficiency, assists and steals this season.

Moving on to All-Conference 2nd teams, Franklin Agu (9.1ppg, 8.3rpg, 11.4eff) completes Myerscough’s trio of selections, whilst Manchester’s Luke Gordos (9.8ppg, 1.4spg, 7.0eff) and Sheffield’s Tom Morey (18.2ppg, 3.2apg, 12.2eff) are their programme’s only selections.

Northern Conference Defensive Player of the Year Charlie Brown (10.4ppg, 6.8apg, 21.1eff) grabs further recognition for his solid season in Derby, whilst Most Improved Player Josh Ijeh’s (16.2ppg, 18.2rpg, 27.5eff) best ever EABL rebounding campaign earns him a spot as well.

Copleston’s Jacob Morgan (18.2ppg, 2.6spg, 12.2eff) completes the trio of Coach Drane’s players to receive recognition in the South, with Canterbury duo Chester Morrell (16.2ppg, 6.5rpg, 11.9eff) and Will Raife (15.4ppg, 3.5rpg, 8.4eff) both getting the nod.

Taiga Forster (16.2ppg, 6.2rpg, 13.9eff) is Itchen’s only selection this year, and JMA’s Asher Ndah (10.3ppg, 6.5rpg, 9.3eff) rounds out the five following a solid season for the Rockets.

Tomorrow marks the end of the EABL awards as we announce both the Northern and Southern Conference MVPs at 10:00am.

The EABL final between Barking and Myerscough is next Wednesday, 18 March, with a 5:00pm tip. Entry is free for all spectators and that includes the ability to also watch the ABL (12:00pm) and WEABL (2:30pm) finals earlier in the day.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login