2021/22 EABL Awards – All Conference Teams Announced

The 2021/22 EABL All Conference teams have been announced, with league winners Charnwood and Oaklands contributing a combined six selections.

Selected by the teams themselves, the top 10 most voted for players are placed into the All-Conference 1st and 2nd teams to recognise their standout performances across the season.

All Conference 1st Teams

Charnwood trio Louie Jordan, Victor Ndoukou and Kanu Gudza make up over half of the Northern conference first team, with SGS’s Jason Soodeen and Myerscough’s Bryan Akanmu rounding out the five.

Akanmu helped his team to second place in the North, enjoying an EABL fourth best 19.4PPG and third best 23.3 efficiency.

Soodeen has been outstanding across the campaign, ranking second for efficiency (24.1), first for points per game (23.3), second for rebounds per game (18.0) and third for steals per game (3.6).

Charnwood’s selections all punctuated the top 10 stat leaders for the season, with Ndoukou (17.8) and Gudza (17.4) ranking eighth and ninth for points per game, whilst Jordan (13.4PPG, 5.6RPG) also played an integral part in the Riders’ season.

In the South, regular-season champs Oaklands put forward Kane Daley (19.2PPG, 9.4RPG) and Oliver Wright (17.2PPG, 3.1SPG) to highlight their standout campaigns.

Talented forward Kivuvu Live earns a spot, with the JMA forward averaging a 16.4 point and 12.5 rebound double-double this year.

JMA team mate Isaac Round also made the cut, with the EABL’s second top scorer (21.1PPG) showcasing his ability for the Rockets week in, week out.

Barking’s Stephen Asante rounds out the five, enjoying 10.6PPG and 5.7RPG across 2021/22.

All Conference 2nd Teams

Derby duo and former Player of the Week selections Mandre Costa and Simeon Perry both make the second team in the North, with Perry enjoying a league third best 19.7PPG, whilst Costa’s 3.9 assists per game is also third best in the EABL.

Former EABL Most Improved Player Josh Ijeh slots into the five, with his league-leading 31.9 efficiency, 21.9 rebounds and 1.9 blocks per game all impressive markers on the year.

Pedro Ellery helped Myerscough reach this week’s EABL playoff final, and the talented guard has been singled out for his contributions, whilst Sheffield’s Charles Okafor (20.2 efficiency, 16.7PPG, 11.8RPG) is also recognised.

LA Casinillo led Itchen with 14.5PPG, pushing the South coast programme to the #3 seed in the South, and he’s joined by team mate Max Matthews, who took significant strides across the season to close with 10.8PPG, 4.3RPG, 2.8SPG and 2.7APG.

Talles Zacharias adds to Oaklands’ representation in the All-Conference teams after a strong season, whilst Joe Buchanan joins Asante as one of Barking’s two selections overall.

That leave’s Copleston’s Ben Michael’s to make up the quintet, utilising his 6’7″ frame to pull down 10.2 rebounds per game whilst rejecting a league second best 1.2 shots per outing.

Individual EABL awards will be announced at 2pm tomorrow, including MVP, Defensive Player of the Year, U17 Player of the Year, Most Improved Player and Coach of the Year for both conferences.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login